Lifestyle · Personal Experiences

A Day In York | The Shop That Must Not Be Named

On Friday night, my family and I returned home after a lovely week in Yorkshire.  On Friday 14th July, we said goodbye to Aberdeen and travelled for 8 hours down to Towthorpe, just outside York.

As my grandparents come on holiday with us, we mainly like to stay in the UK.  It’s so nice being able to explore different parts of your country, travelling to places you have never been to before.  We went to a different place everyday and while we were away, we decided to go to Beverly, Scarborough, Hull and Driffield.

On Tuesday, we decided to go to York.  This was something I was very excited about!  It has been a long time since I’ve been to York and I was looking forward to going back.  Lucky for us, the sun was shining and I knew it was going to be a great day.

IMG_2684

One of my favourite things to do in York is walk along ‘The Shambles’.  I love walking down the cobbled streets, looking up at the old fashioned buildings.  Whenever I’m on holiday, I do enjoy a little bit of shopping.  I love finding small, independent, shops.  Shops that I have never seen before.

My favourite shop by far had to be this one…

IMG_2689.JPG

At first, when I looked at the name, I was a little bit puzzled but also very intrigued.  However, as I got closer, a lightbulb suddenly switched on!  I looked at the window in amazement, I could feel my heart racing.  HARRY POTTER!!

If you are a Harry Potter fan, like I am, I’m sure you can relate to this.  I had to go in!!

The shop was quite small and very busy.  It was so busy that you had to queue to get in!!  Luckily, I was the only one waiting at this time so I didn’t have to wait too long.  My family decided to wait outside while I went in.  While I was waiting, I was talking to one of the staff members at the door and I couldn’t believe how busy it was inside!  She said that it has been very busy lately and it wasn’t until my turn to go in, that I realised why.

IMG_2694IMG_2695

Walking in, I felt like a kid in a toy shop.  I didn’t know where to look first!!  One of the many things I loved about it was the interior, I definitely felt a ‘leaky cauldron’ vibe. With the shop located in the shambles, it was as if I was actually in Diagon Alley, buying school supplies for Hogwarts!

The range of products they had was incredible!  I wanted to buy everything!! There were clothes, mugs, posters, jewellery and loads more.  They even sell wands!!  How cool is that?!

IMG_2696

I felt so bad for my family, as they were all standing outside waiting for me.  Haha!  As much as I wanted to, I knew I couldn’t stay there all day!  I found this as the perfect opportunity to buy birthday/Christmas presents for some of my friends, as they are also massive Harry Potter fans.  However, there was no way I would be able to leave the shop without buying something for myself!

I’m a proud Hufflepuff!!  Go Badgers!!  However…  I couldn’t resist buying a Gryffindor hoodie…  I’m definitely not a Gryffindor but a girl can dream, haha! 🙂

Finally, I returned to the real world to find my family waiting for me outside.  As I leave the shop, I turn round to find a MASSIVE queue of people waiting to go inside.  I was so surprised but also relieved that I got there at the right time.  Walking along ‘The Shambles’ again, I felt like I was on cloud 9!!  This was a day that I will never forget. 🙂

The last few days of our holiday flew by and before we knew it, we were packing everything into the cars and driving back up the road to Aberdeen.  😦 I love spending time with my family, and I always look forward to going on holiday with them.  I have so many fun memories with them and I hope that I will remember this week forever. 🙂

Sorry for the SUPER long post, but I hope you all enjoyed it!  If you are a massive Harry Potter fan like I am, please tell me what house you’re in.  I would love to know! ❤

See you again soon! 🙂

Name

7 thoughts on “A Day In York | The Shop That Must Not Be Named

  1. That shop looks amazing! I’m a huge Harry Potter fan! I did that Harry Potter house quiz before and it said I was would be in Hufflepuff. I would love to visit the UK sometime!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m a Hufflepuff! 💛 I was a bit unsure to begin with, but now I feel like I’m definitely a Hufflepuff. 😂 You should! 😊 However, it’s quite cold sometimes so I would take a lot of jumpers. Just to be on the safe side. 😂💕 xx

      Like

    1. You definitely should!! It’s amazing! 😄 I really want to go to Warner Brothers Studios in London. So many people I know have been and they keep telling me how great it is. Such a massive Harry Potter fan! 😂 xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

